I Have a Deadline

Deadlines help me a lot. Something about having a date when I need to have something finished gets my ass in gear.

Earlier, I talked about writing for time instead of length, which was a boon when I didn’t have an idea of when I wanted to have this finished.

So, to help me get out of my own way (you’ll hear me say that a lot), I set a deadline for Memorial Day of this year (May 29, 2017) to have my first draft of my novel.

It’s ambitious, I know. It’s a few weeks longer¬†than NaNoWriMo, but this gives me more time for those days when the inspiration is scant.

Let’s break this down mathematically. From the time of this post (April 4) until my deadline (May 19) is 53 days. NaNoWriMo has a goal of at least 50,000 words, which breaks down to about 943¬†words per day on the timetable I’m working with here. To make it easier on me, I can round that off to 950 words. Aw, fuck it. Let’s shoot for 1,000 per day.

I finish things faster when I know there are people counting on me, especially when they invest in me. So, I’m looking into Patreon to give me a leg up while I Write The Damn Thing. If enough people are interested, I’ll set it up and see how it goes.

One thought on “I Have a Deadline

Comments are closed.